History & Mission



Our History



carolina trust federal credit union history

Carolina Trust Federal Credit Union began as Myrtle Beach Air Force Base Federal Credit Union in 1958.

With only one employee in a Base-provided building, the Credit Union was allowed to serve the financial needs of military personnel and civil service employees.  As federal regulations allowed, the Credit Union expanded its field of membership to serve employees of partnering area businesses.

In October 2001, the Credit Union was granted a community charter, which enabled Carolina Trust to serve individuals who live, work (or regularly conduct business in), worship, volunteer, or attend school in Horry, Georgetown, Marion, Williamsburg or southern Florence County (south of Lynches River), South Carolina or Brunswick County, North Carolina. Relatives of members and business owners are also eligible to join our Credit Union.

Today, Carolina Trust Federal Credit Union serves over 39,000 members worldwide with branch locations in Myrtle Beach, Little River, Surfside Beach, Conway, Johnsonville, and Lake City, South Carolina.

credit union mission statement

Our Mission Statement reminds us to never forget why credit unions were formed, seek ways to innovate and ensure our viability, and celebrate the unique aspects of our member-owned Cooperative.